Permaculture, what is it ?!

Originally, permaculture (permanent agriculture) was a method theorized in the 1970s by Bill Mollison and David Holmgren in Australia on the basis of a model developed by Japanese agriculture Masanobu Fukuoka. This form of agriculture aims to draw inspiration from nature to develop agricultural systems in synergy, based on the diversity of crops, their resilience and their natural productivity. The objective is to produce a harmonious, resilient, productive and sustainable environment. 

Screen Shot 2019-08-27 at 2.38.06 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-08-27 at 6.15.04 PM.png

Now synonymous with permanent culture in the broad sense, permaculture designates a global ethic and method aimed at the design of integrated systems in a sustainable development strategy, where human activity must take into account natural ecosystems and be carried out in harmony and in interconnection with them, with a constant concern for efficiency, sustainability and resilience.

IMG_4264.HEIC
_DSC0494.JPG

We often confuse agroecology and permaculture, yet these two practices are different. Agroecology goes further than organic farming,  it aims to create a sustainable agricultural system, using techniques such as complementarity, composting, cultivation on mounds, and integrate these systems in an ecological way by saving water, fighting against erosion etc ...

These are things that can be found in permaculture, but the latter is broader since it focuses not only on creating sustainable and resilient agricultural systems, but also on integrating them into a larger system of life in the world. within which we must take into account the human, social, energy etc ...

perma-logo-circle.png
KALANANDA LOGO-02 copie.png

La permaculture, qu'est ce que c'est ?!

A l’origine, la permaculture (permanent agriculture) était une méthode théorisée dans les années 1970 par Bill Mollison et David Holmgren en Australie sur les bases d’un modèle développé par l’agriculture japonais Masanobu Fukuoka. Cette forme d’agriculture vise à s’inspirer de la nature pour développer des systèmes agricoles en synergie, basés sur la diversité des cultures, leur résilience et leur productivité naturelle. L’objectif étant de produire un environnement harmonieux, résilient, productif et durable. 

Désormais synonyme de permanent culture au sens large, la permaculture désigne une éthique et une méthode globales visant à la conception de systèmes intégrés dans une stratégie de développement durable, où l’activité humaine doit tenir compte des écosystèmes naturels et s’exercer en harmonie et en interconnexion avec eux, dans un souci constant d’efficacité, de soutenabilité et de résilience.

On confond souvent agroécologie et permaculture, pourtant ces deux pratiques sont différentes. L’agro-écologie va plus loin que l'agriculture biologique, elle vise à créer un système agricole durable, utilisant les techniques comme la complémentarité, le compostage, la culture sur buttes, et intégrer ces systèmes de façon écologique en économisant l’eau, en luttant contre l’érosion etc…

Ce sont des choses que l’on peut retrouver dans la permaculture, mais cette dernière est plus large puisqu’elle s’attache non seulement à créer des systèmes agricoles durables et résilients, mais aussi à les intégrer dans un système de vie plus large au sein duquel il faut prendre en compte l’humain, le social, l’énergie etc…