The Shala

A fusion between Nature and Yoga
photo_2022-10-20_18-39-57.jpg

The shala is installed on a 2000 m2 permaculture garden, located in a small village around Agadir where the atmosphere is very calm, which allows a harmonious combination with Yoga. 

Yoga classes are offered there throughout the week, in French or in English but the Shala is also an ideal place for your workshops and seminars considering the atmosphere, the generous space both outside inside as well as  the necessary equipment

Would you like to privatize the Shala by the hour or by the day?
The story behind the Shala

Françoise Barkat, founder of the permaculture space as well as the Shala, has been practicing Yoga for more than 20 years.


She was a Home Nurse until 2006 and her desire to get to know the human being led her to specialize in naturotherapy, aromatherapy, relaxology, reiki and finally Yoga.
 

His meeting with Paramahamsa Nithyananda, results in a second "birth". At his side, she trained in Yoga, in India, and is certified by IVHU (International Vedic Hindu University).
She continues to train regularly, mainly in India, and is certified 200h in Yoga Therapy, Kundalini, Power Yoga. 

His teaching is simple, direct, in contact with nature and the elements. She leads Yoga Teachers Training recognized by Yoga Alliance International.

 


His intention today is to share this art of living in the present moment, thanks to courses, training and tailor-made stays, in respect of the teachings of Patanjali and in the middle of sumptuous Moroccan landscapes.

Recently, she learned about permaculture and therefore created this garden space that surrounds the Shala. This is just one of the many accomplishments over the past few years as she keeps learning and doing new things.

Screen Shot 2019-08-29 at 8.44.17 PM.png
Pauline pic 3.jpg

 Yoga

3905419df3d4ee163e00f778b6110da6-lotus-s

Before knowing what Yoga is, it is important to know what it is not ...

 

Yoga is neither a physical exercise nor a breath control. These two practices are tools to achieve what  Patanjali defines as  being Yoga, namely: "the cessation of the automatic functioning of the mind".

 

It is defined as "the union with the divine, the union with the cosmic power, the cessation of the mind to go beyond it and become one with Existence".  Yoga is an ongoing process, and it never ends.

 

In our modern society, and particularly in the West, when we consider Yoga, we immediately associate it with being just a series of postures performed physically to promote strength, flexibility and balance in the body. some breathing exercises and some meditation practice to maintain an exotic flavor ...

 

Yoga is a great holistic science. It is one of the six basic systems of India. It has never been confined to being a specific practice, but a way of fully experiencing everything that touches every aspect of our existence. The great sage Patanjali, considered the father of Yoga,  teaches  in his extraordinary treatise "The Yoga Sutras", total mastery of all aspects of human life - body, breathing, mind, health and social relationships.

Namaste-No-Background.png

 Over time, the strength of Patanjali's message encoded in the Yoga Sutras has been diluted to accommodate the understanding of those who propagated it. Patanjali made it clear that Yoga is the instrument and the means of directing the mind without distraction or interruption.  In these Sutras, he answers questions about the nature of the mind and gives the means to stop its automatic functioning and conditioned by our past.


The heart of the Yoga Sutras is in relation to the perception of things, and the way in which our mind loses its original clarity.  At Kalananda Yoga Studio, we teach the 8 limbs of Yoga, Asthanga Yoga, respecting the teachings of Krishnamacharya. Patanjali recommends using  together the eight limbs of Yoga in order to attain the state  meditation and  thus remain in this state of clarity and awareness.


The soul of the practice of Yoga is to clarify our perception, and through  this process, go to a  deep transformation, and thus find our first state of bliss.


Simply put, Yoga is the way to unite us with our Supreme Self.  It means to become unified  in body, mind and spirit.  It involves movement from the outside to the inside. He accepts the individual as he is, where he is.

Screen Shot 2019-08-27 at 10_edited.png
Yoga-Logo-PNG-28.png

Le Shala

Une fusion entre Nature et Yoga

Le shala est installé sur un jardin de permaculture de 2000 m2, situé dans un petit village autour d’Agadir ou l’ambiance y est très calme, ce qui permet une harmonieuse combinaison avec le Yoga 

Des cours de Yoga y sont proposés tout au long de la semaine, en français ou en anglais mais le Shala est également un endroit idéal pour vos workshops et séminaires en considérant l'atmosphere, l'espace généreux à la fois à l'exterieur qu'à l'intérieur ainsi que le matériel nécessaire

Vous aimeriez privatiser le Shala à l'heure ou à la journée ?
L'histoire derrière le Shala

Françoise Barkat, fondatrice de l'espace permaculture ainsi que du Shala, pratique le Yoga depuis plus de 20 ans.


Elle a été Infirmière à domicile jusqu'en 2006 et son désir de connaître l'être humain l'a conduite à se spécialiser en naturothérapie, aromathérapie, relaxologie , reiki et finalement en Yoga.
 

Sa rencontre avec Paramahamsa Nithyananda, se traduit par une seconde "naissance". A ses côtés, elle s'est formée au Yoga, en Inde, et est certifiée par l"I.V.H.U (International Vedic Hindu University).
Elle continue à se former régulièrement, principalement en Inde, et est certifiée 200h en Yoga Thérapie, Kundalini , Power Yoga. 

Son enseignement est simple, direct, en contact avec la nature et les éléments. Elle conduit des Yoga Teachers Training reconnus par Yoga Alliance International.

 


Son intention aujourd'hui, est de partager cet art de vivre l'instant présent, grâce à des cours, des formations et des séjours sur mesure, dans lerespect des enseignements de Patanjali et au milieu des somptueux paysages Marocains.

Récemment, elle s'est instruite à la permaculture et a donc crée cet espace jardin qui entoure le Shala. Cela est seulement une de ces nombreuses réalisations au cours de ces dernières années car elle ne cesse d'apprendre et accomplir de nouvelles choses

 Le Yoga

Avant de savoir ce qu'est le Yoga, il est important de savoir ce qu'il n'est pas...

 

Le Yoga n'est ni un exercice physique, ni un contrôle de la respiration. Ces deux pratiques sont des outils pour atteindre ce que Patanjali définit comme étant le Yoga , à savoir : " la cessation du fonctionnement automatique du mental".

 

On le définit comme "l'union avec le divin, l'union avec le pouvoir cosmique, la cessation du mental pour aller au delà de ce dernier et devenir un avec l'Existence".  Le Yoga est un processus continu, et il ne se termine jamais.

 

Dans notre société moderne, et particulièrement en occident, quand nous considérons le Yoga, nous l'associons immédiatement à n'être qu'une série de postures exécutées physiquement pour promouvoir la force, la flexibilité et l'équilibre du corps.On y rajoute quelques exercices respiratoires et un peu de pratique de méditation pour maintenir une saveur exotique...

 

Le Yoga est une grande science holistique. C'est l'un des six systèmes de base de l'Inde. Il n'a jamais été confiné à être une pratique spécifique,mais une façon de vivre pleinement tout ce qui touche chaque aspect de notre existence. Le grand sage Patanjali, considéré comme le père du Yoga, a enseigné dans son extraordinaire traité "les Yoga Sutras", la totale maîtrise de tout les aspects de la vie humaine - le corps, la respiration, le mental, la santé et les relations sociales.

 Au fil du temps, la force du message de Patanjali codé dans les Yoga Sutras a été diluée pour s'adapter à la compréhension de ceux qui l'ont propagé. Patanjali a clairement établi que le Yoga est l'instrument et le moyen de diriger le mental sans distraction, ni interruption. Dans ces Sutras, il répond aux questions sur la nature du mental et donne les moyens de faire cesser son fonctionnement automatique et conditionné par notre passé.


Le coeur des Yoga Sutras est en relation avec la perception des choses, et la façon dont notre mental perd sa clarté originelle. Au Kalananda Yoga Studio, nous enseignons les 8 membres du Yoga, Asthanga Yoga, dans le respect des enseignements de Krishnamacharya. Patanjali recommande d'utiliser ensemble les huit membres du Yoga afin d'atteindre l'état de méditation et demeurer ainsi dans cet état de clarté et de conscience .


L'âme de la pratique du Yoga est de clarifier notre perception, et à travers ce processus, aller vers une profonde transformation , et ainsi retrouver notre état premier de félicité.


En termes simples, le Yoga est le moyen de nous unir à notre Soi suprême. Il signifie devenir unifié  dans le corps, le mental et l'esprit. Il implique un mouvement de l'extérieur vers l'intérieur. Il accepte l'individu comme il est, où il est.